State In The Real – Penn State Music Scene

Author - Misun Lee

The Masquerade's New EP Home Is Where You Make It

A local band called The Masquerade based in Erie, Pennsylvania is a Pop Punk band made up of four guys, Geo Martinez, Brandon Eaton, TJ Hess, and Dakota Valerio. This past summer they released their debut EP, Home Is Where You Make It, on June 18th, 2013 consisting of 5 tracks.

The Masquerade is a very catchy band that people could definitely rock and sing to! With meaningful messages carried out throughout the songs, it combines their stories with a great sound and vibe. The instrumentals could be compared to Fall Out Boy’s, “Sugar, We’re Going Down,” with the mix of drums, guitars, and vocals. They are an awesome band with music that’s relate-able and can lift your mood anytime!

Here is the tracklist of the EP Home is Where You Make It:

1. The Weekend

2. Best Day Of My Life

3. Back Up Plan

4. Set Your Mind To It

5. All My Life


Their EP is now available on iTunes so go check them out! Click HERE!

Below is a lyric video of, “Best Day Of My Life”

"Royals" Lorde Releases New Single "Team"

The hit single, “Royals,” by Lorde has just revealed a new follow up single, “Team.”

“Royals” as well as “Team” and “Tennis Court” will all be on her new upcoming album Pure Heroine which will be released September 30th!

Listen to her hit songs, “Royals,” “Team,” and “Tennis Court”

“Royals” by Lorde

“Team” by Lorde

“Tennis Court” by Lorde

Drake's New Album "Nothing Was The Same" Track List Revealed

Drake just revealed the tracklist from his new album, Nothing Was The Same, to be released September 24th!

The album consists of 13 tracks with features from his father Dennis Graham, Jay Z, Lil Wayne, 2 Chainz, and James Blake. It will also include the singles, “Started From The Bottom” and “Hold On We’re Going Home.” A deluxe edition of the album will have 2 extra tracks, “Come Thru” and “All Me.”

Here is the tracklist:

1. Tuscan Leather
2. Furthest Thing
3. Started From The Bottom
4. Wu-Tang Forever
5. Own It
6. Worst Behaviour
7. From Time
8. Hold On, We’re Going Home
9. Connect
10. The Language
11. 305 To My City Feat. Detail
12. Too Much
13. Pound Cake Feat. Jay Z / Paris Morton Music 2

Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes "Almost Is Never Enough" Video Released Today

Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes’, “Almost Is Never Enough,” music video has just been released today.

The song is on the soundtrack of the movie, “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones,” now available to download here and will be on Ariana’s upcoming album, “Yours Truly.”

Here is the video down below, enjoy!

Music video of “Almost Is Never Enough” by Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes

Check Out Lady Gaga's New Single "Applause"

Lady Gaga just released her new single, “Applause,” yesterday on Youtube and iTunes, a week earlier than she had planned.

“Applause” is her new single from upcoming third album, “ARTPOP,” being released November 11!

Only hours after the release it has reached all the way up to No. 2 on the iTunes singles chart, right behind Katy Perry’s “Roar”!

Listen to her new single, “Applause,” below:

“Applause” by Lady Gaga

Katy Perry and John Mayer Sing a Duet!

Lovers, Katy Perry and John Mayer, have written and recorded a duet together called “Who You Love” for John Mayer’s new upcoming album Paradise Valley due August 20th!

Also look out for Katy Perry’s new album, Prism, coming out October 22nd!
Her new single, “Roar,” has already been released setting the bar high for the rest of her new album.

Check out the newly released song, “Who You Love,” by Katy Perry and John Mayer.

“Who You Love” by Katy Perry and John Mayer