State In The Real – Penn State Music Scene
DETAILS FOR Movin' On – Battle of the Bands!
Start: March 19, 2011 10:00 pm
End: March 19, 2011 11:55 pm

Movin' On – Battle of the Bands!

movin on penn state

Winners Announced!

Battle of the Bands Adds Four Student Acts To Movin’ On Lineup

The Movin’ On CORE Committee hosted their annual Battle of the Bands competition in Alumni Hall Saturday night for student bands. The bands competed for the opportunity to open for this year’s headliners at the Movin’ On festival.

The twelve bands selected by the CORE committee performed in front of over 600 students Saturday night to win the chance to open for headliners Little Big Town, Lupe Fiasco, and O.A.R. Among the twelve bands, four were selected by special guests judges to play at this year’s Movin’ On Festival, scheduled for Friday, April 29th.

The top four bands selected by judges were So Long, Pluto in fourth, Atlas Soundtrack in third, The Zak Sobel Band in second, and 5 Cherry Lewis in first.  The bands were judged based on originality, musicality, audience response, and overall stage presence. The judges for Battle were Blue Band Drum Major Ian Kenney, Glide Magazine music journalist Nick Gunther, B94.5 interns, and one student judge.

The set lineup for Movin’ On 2011 will open with So Long, Pluto, Atlas Soundtrack, The Zak Sobel Band, 5 Cherry Lewis, a fourth paid act still TBD, Little Big Town, Lupe Fiasco, and O.A.R. The fourth paid act will be determined over the next few days by the Movin’ On Executive Committee.

This year’s Movin’ On music festival will begin at 3:30 pm to 11:30 pm at IM Field West by Beaver Stadium and is free admission for both Penn State students and the general public. The final itinerary for the day’s performances and events will be available at

March 3, 2011
Movin’ On Announces Battle of the Bands Contestants

After a long night of listening and deliberating, the Movin’ On CORE committee voted on twelve bands for this year’s “Battle of the Bands.” The committee met for three and a half hours and listened to two songs from each of the 41 applicants. Selection was based off of scores on a 5-point rating scale. The official release of the contestants was announced at 9:10 am on Thursday, March 3 on B94.5 fm, a sponsor of the event.

Movin’ On- Penn State’s Annual Music Festival now includes a collaboration of five Movin’ On directors, a CORE committee of thirty students, and a liaison from each of the following organizations: ARHS, GSA, SPA, The Lion 90.7fm, and UPUA.

Battle of the Bands applications were released online and the deadline for submissions was on March 1, 2011. Applicants were asked to submit songs electronically, give a brief description, and explain why they should play at this year’s battle.

Battle of the Bands, a free event, gives student bands the opportunity to open for a major headliner at one of the largest student run music festivals in the country. While the 2011 headliner has not yet been announced, the Movin’ On executive committee trusts that the student bands will be excited.

This year’s applicant pool was composed of forty-one original artists with styles ranging from rap to folk Americana to reggae. At least one member of each band must be a Penn State student. Twelve contestants were selected to play a fifteen minute set on Saturday, March 19 at 9pm in Alumni Hall. The battle will yield four winners who will each play a half hour set at this year’s festival. The Movin’ On Music Festival is scheduled for Friday, April 29 with a tentative start time of 3:30pm. The executive committee hopes to announce the headliner shortly after the students return from spring break.

This year’s contestants include:

So Long, Pluto



5 Cherry Lewis



No Slip Condition



Atlas Soundtrack






The Good News



Chris Good



Zak Sobel Band






Jordan Graves






The Had Knots




Movin On’s Battle of the Bands

Sat, March 19 at 9pm

Alumni Hall

No press passes are needed for this event, but must present photo id at the door.




Executive Committee Contact Info:


Tim Haynes

Overall Director


Katharine Steward

Director of Marketing



Jen Leydig

Director of Finance


Bryn Gelaro

Director of Events


Laura Krumholtz

Director of Operations